Claudia Davis: Horse riding and a mini-zoo

PUBLISHED: 14:52 04 February 2016 | UPDATED: 14:57 04 February 2016

Claudia Davis

Claudia Davis


12-year-old eventer Claudia Davis is a riding champion. Here she tells WEL about her Olympic dreams, horse competitions, her mini zoo and family life

Claudia with her horseClaudia with her horse

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Claudia Davis and I am currently a pupil at Forest School in Snaresbrook. Outside of Forest, I take part in national dressage, cross country and show jumping competitions.

Where do you live and what do you like about it?

I live in Loughton at the moment with my family. I love the area as you get the best of both worlds. It’s so close to the city but surrounded by lots of greenery.

Tell us about your family?

I live with my Mum, Dad and older brother. Our house is full of pets, many people say it’s like a mini zoo. We have a baby tortoise called Barry, two chinchillas, two goldfish, a gerbil and a Dalmatian called Daisy. I also have my two horses Nellie and Pebbles.

What is the most exciting thing that has happened to you recently?

I attended the Dressage U21s UK Christmas camp down in the Cotswolds.

Can you share your goals for 2016?

This year I hope to get on to the Rider Development Pathway. This is a programme to help riders towards Olympic standard. I would love to represent Great Britain at the Olympics one day, so I will be so happy to take this next step.

Who are your biggest influences?

Two of my heroes include Charlotte Dujardin OBE and Phoebe Peters. Charlotte is currently in the GB team for Team Dressage and was awarded an OBE in 2013 for her services to equestrian. Phoebe is in the junior squad so it’s nice to see someone close to my age doing so well.

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

I’ll still be at Forest, half way through my A-Levels and closer to representing Team GB at the Olympics. Tokyo 2020 here I come!

How do you relax?

I like to take walks in the forest with my horses. I feel lucky to be surrounded by so much green space, but close to central London too.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

My horses keep me pretty busy, so when I’m not at Forest you can normally find me riding or cleaning out their stables.

Do you have any other hobbies?

Along with riding, I like to play hockey at Forest and enjoy trampolining.

What makes you smile?

I love to think about all my horses, especially my first one called Candy. I also smile when I’m around my friends Tabby, Cydney and Elise.

What’s your favourite song at the moment?

My favourite song at the moment is Stitches by Shawn Mendes

Tell us something about you that may surprise us?

I’ve only fallen off Nellie once, which is the horse I ride competitively. However, with Pebbles it’s more often, she’s a cheeky pony.

Latest from the West Essex Life