Habits of a clever teenager

PUBLISHED: 17:01 10 June 2016

Darshan Pindoria - a bright young thing

Darshan Pindoria - a bright young thing


What does 15-year-old sports star Darshan Pindoria do to keep achieving things to be proud of?

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Darshan Pindoria, nickname DARSH. I am a pupil at West Hatch High school studying for 10 GCSEs (2017). I am keen on triple sciences, maths, and love resistant materials. Since the age of 8, I have been an extremely passionate kart driver and compete in national and international championships. I love sport- being passionate about every aspect and played for West Hatch cricket, basketball, football and athletics teams. At home I regularly do weight training and strengthen my arms to help drive cars stronger. I volunteer as a sports leader at my school by coaching and mentoring primary school children in Essex to aspire to do better in sports. I have also been a keen guitarist since 9 and play at school band events.

Where do you live and what do you like about it?

Kart driving is one of Darshan's many passionsKart driving is one of Darshan's many passions

I live in Chigwell, its misconceiving appearance as a quaint village actually benefits with useful amenities like the village playground. The underground tube station is three minute walk away, which means I get into London within 30 minutes. I live a 15 minute walk away from my school, which keeps me fit everyday and it’s easier for taking part in extracurricular activity. We have a fabulous friendly neighbourhood; I am surrounded by abundant Arsenal supporters!

Tell us about your family?

I have two parents and a younger sister who from birth has difficulty breathing. That is quite sad for us as her life is limiting and she struggles to maintain a normal life. My Dad’s a physics teacher and businessman, my mum is a education consultant and business coach.

Darshan kartingDarshan karting

What is the most exciting thing that has happened to you over the past year?

I made my debut in European kart championship. The finals were in Belgium and I finished in the top 20 out of European and global kart drivers. I had an amazing experience as I developed my driving skills internationally and that is what I want to pursue as a career.

Who are your biggest influences?

My Mum, Dad and sister and formula1 drivers especially my iconic British driver is, Lewis Hamilton.

Where do you see yourself in five years time?

Completing my degree in automotive engineering, working within a motorsport industry and driving with a motor-racing team.

How do you relax?

My little sister loves Candy Crush and gets me to play with her. The best relaxation for me is my passion of racing and spare time on the car race simulator. My favourite circuits are Monza, Silverstone, Spa and Monaco.

What makes you smile?

My sister cracks me up when she is feeling well, she is really funny. I get so much from her when she is with me with her happy upbeat nature.

What is your worst habit?

I don’t think I have any bad habits but absolutely sure my mum can think of a few!

Tell us something about you that may surprise us?

I learnt to drive a manual car at age 10, I drove dad’s car in a private car park. I love flat pack furniture and was able to put together a complicated bedroom wardrobe for my Dad at 10. I’m hoping this is going to become a good pocket money earner for me.

Latest from the West Essex Life