Boy Done WEL: James Ball

PUBLISHED: 16:55 12 September 2016

WEL SEPT 16 BDW

WEL SEPT 16 BDW

Archant

Theydons senior property consultant, James Ball talks to WEL about his future visions of extending his property firm, visiting the 'Wonders of The World', and developing his wildlife photography skills. However, if all else fails he likes nothing more than having a local drink with the lads

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m James Ball and I work at Theydons, estate agents covering South Woodford, Woodford Green and surrounding areas.

Where do you live?

I live in North Chingford, which is highly convenient to travel to and from work. Far away enough not to bump into clients and risk ruining my professional image on a night out.

What do you love about your job?

I enjoy meeting all kinds of different people on a daily basis and thankfully the majority of the time we are making people very happy.

What is the best part of your job?

Enjoying the atmosphere as we all get along here. That can’t be said about all offices, that spend 10 hours a day, six days a week together. It is very rewarding to see both the buyer and seller happy on the day of completion.

What is the worst part of your job?

Unfortunately with every happy successful buyer, there’s often somebody that loses out, it’s never nice delivering the bad news.

What is the secret of your success?

Providing a service that will make our buyers and sellers want to use us for their future sale/ purchase and recommend us to family and friends. Like myself, we have all been at the company for several years so we all have a long term vision.

What has been the proudest moment in your career so far?

Recently seeing this South Woodford branch finally starting to get recognised as a top agent in the area. I have been here from the start and it has taken three years of lots of hard working and brand name awareness, but this will only continue to grow.

Where do you see yourself in five years time?

Still here at Theydons, potentially another branch maybe a bit closer to home, I like to think I’ll be more professional on a night out in five years’ time.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Socialising with friends and family is a priority on my days off. I like the outdoors a lot, I’m very fortunate to live beside Epping Forest which is walkable distance. I have also recently got into wildlife photography, which has taken me to some interesting places.

What is your greatest fear?

It has always been falling over head first and knocking my front teeth out, on top of what I imagine would be very painful. I have unusually big teeth which I have only recently grow in to!

Where do you go for a guy’s night out?

We enjoy the atmosphere in the bars up Station Road in North Chingford and tend to rotate between Essex House, One Twenty and The Front Room each week, before inevitably ending up in Faces or further into London.

What’s your drink of choice after a hard day?

Gin and tonic with cucumber unless each of my close friends orders a pint of beer. I can’t be the only one drinking through a straw and half a salad.

What is top on your bucket list?

Generally, I would love to see each of the ‘Wonders of the World’ over the course of my lifetime. At the moment I have seen Stonehenge (from a car on the A303), but I have got plans to see the more exciting Northern Lights and Coliseum in Rome, in the next six months.

Theydons

41 High Road, South Woodford E18 2QP

020 8989 6868

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the West Essex Life